Jeffrey L. McClure
District 1

Commissioner McClure has served on the Board of Commissioners since 2008 and is the Commission President for 2020.

Jeff has practiced architecture since 1983 and is a founding partner of a 15 member architectural firm, responsible for numerous projects including community centers, corporate offices, restaurants and resorts.  Jeff has been actively involved in community affairs to revitalize downtown Bellingham and has led the design effort for several master planning projects.

With his solid business background experience and ability to navigate the intricacies of complex issues, Jeff wanted to be able to contribute to the growing needs of Whatcom County and the PUD#1 by running for Commissioner.  Jeff believes the key to maintaining a successful utility is the stability of the system which requires planning and analysis.  Commissioner McClure and his family reside in Bellingham.  (Term expires Dec. 31, 2020.)

Atul Deshmane
District 2

Commissioner Deshmane was elected to serve as Commissioner, beginning January 1, 2019, and is the Commission Secretary for 2020.

As a Public Utility Commissioner and business leader, Atul hopes to create opportunities for sustainable energy and to encourage and support water conservation to meet the needs of residents, farms, fish, and local businesses.   Commissioner Deshmane resides in rural Whatcom County.  (Term expires Dec. 31, 2024.)

Michael J. Murphy
District 3

Elected in 1998, Commissioner Murphy currently serves as Vice President.  Murphy is the District’s representative and member of the Board of Directors for the Washington Public Utility Districts Association (WPUDA) and several of their other committees on the state level.

A lifelong resident of Whatcom County, Mike and his wife raised four children and now enjoy spending time with their nine grandchildren.  Murphy decided to run for PUD Commissioner in 1998, when he could no longer take his children to the locations and streams where he played or swam as a child. Seeking an explanation from the cities and county for why the streams no longer fluently flowed, but could not find an answer, he decided something needed to be done to further protect our valuable resources.

Commissioner Murphy has served as a volunteer fire fighter, EMT, and fire commissioner over for 35 years.  He retired from the Ferndale School District as the Director of Facilities and Transportation after 26 years.

As retired, he has more time to be involved in PUD activities.  In his time as Commissioner, the PUD went from serving Cherry Point as its primary business customers to working with the industries to find ways to conserve on water and energy.

Locally, Mike attends the Watershed Improvement Districts (WID) meetings to listen, learn and suggest ways on how the PUD can support farmers and their water needs.  He also attends WRIA-1 Watershed Management Board and Planning Unit meetings, and small cities meetings, to offer input and solutions on how the PUD can help local water purveyors and similar agencies.  Murphy continues to be active in water related issues from helping farmers, to energy and conservation, drought planning, and fish and habitat restoration projects.

As Commissioner, Murphy is proud of the many PUD accomplishments over the years:

  • Pilot Program – Technical Assistance for Group A Water Systems by a grant from the Department of Health;
  • Supporting agricultural waste solutions by the use anaerobic digesters and a cutting-edge filtration system to produce clean water;
  • Assisting with water systems consolidation projects and solutions – to help solve matters such water rights issues or nitrate contamination, with feasibility studies and/or constructing infrastructure such as interties.
  • Strategic planning efforts to meet future challenges and opportunities.

(Term expires Dec. 31, 2022.)